top of page

Work to be Done.

This past weekend was the first NRC race, Redlands Bicycle Classic. This is the first big stage race of the year in the US, and all the teams send their “A squad” and expect results. I was super excited to get back into stage racing this year, and it was awesome to see how the winter paid off. A 5-day stage race is a lot different then speedweek, which has multiple days of crits. This race puts all your skills to the test, and there is not much hiding or saving energy for the next day.

The first day of racing was a fun circuit with a 14% climb to the finish every lap, and included a fast decent through the neighborhoods. Everyone on day 1 is rested, has fresh legs and thinks they can win. There are 190 guys on the start line who want to win, but only a handful of guys realistically can. During the race guys were taking unnecessary risks to make up for their lack of fitness or other reasons, so you are always a little apprehensive that first day. I was feeling pretty good the whole race until the closing circuits when that climb was starting to take a toll on me, along with my multiple failed attacks. With 2 laps to go the pace ramped up and I was in bad position going into the climb, the field split, and I was too far back. I was a bit disappointed not to be there in the end, but I knew I made a technical error, and not necessarily a fitness one.

Day 2 was a 8 mile TT up at Big Bear lake. Back at altitude, you would think I would be in my element since I am from Colorado, but that was not the case. I have been on the road pretty much since January, and have lost my acclimation to altitude. I didn't really have any expectations for the TT, since I did not have a TT bike. There was no real reason to kill myself in a race where I already have a disadvantage going into it. I knew if I killed myself to finish 100th place that day, I would pay for it later in the week. I did a good effort, but tried to conserve my legs for other stages.

Day 3 was a new course from the last time I was in this race, and it had a 7 k finishing climb. All of this climbing on the circuits cased even more attacking to go on. My team was keen on getting into the breakaway on this stage, but some teams made sure there were no breakaway. So with many attacks, and teams shutting them down right away, this made for a very fast and hard day in the saddle. 75 miles and 8k ft of climbing in 3 hrs hurt. I got shelled out the back going up the last climb, and rolled in with a big group.

Day 4 was the crit, my day to shine. Being a crit rider for the last couple of years made many people know this was our race. But people may not realize that a crit inside a stage race is totally different than a one day NCC race. The tactics are different with the teams, and you have many guys who can’t corner but think they deserve to be up front. So it was super sketchy as always, and super fast as Optum set tempo up front all day. My legs were a bit tired from the week already, and I just could not get into a groove. Conor and Bryan rode incredible and were in perfect position all day until 6 laps to go when the yellow jersey crashed and took out many of the top 20 guys. Unfortuantley Conor crashed hard, and took out any hopes for a good result.

Day 5. The dreaded sunset loop. This race would be extremely hard with fresh legs, let alone after already racing hard for 4 days previous. This race was all about position going into the climb. I felt like I had great legs this day, but for some reason I had bad positioning going into the base of the climb every lap. That is no ones fault but my own. For some reason I could not descend as crazy as I needed to in order to be in the front at the bottom of the climb. I got popped off the main group with 3 laps to go and road in with a small group. I have never made it that far on the sunset loop, so that was a small victory.

Now I am back in Ventura, CA before heading to Greenville this weekend for US PRO Crit nationals!! I am excited to be racing at nationals again but it's just crazy its Nationals in APRIL!!!

Thanks for reading,

Ginger 1


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page