top of page

Bad Luck In Philly

After Canada it was back to the USA. We spent the week in the quiet roads of PA getting ready for the biggest one-day race in the USA. Philadelphia international cycling classic has been around for many many years, and is a big target for US and International teams. I was super excited for this race last year, and after coming off a great week in Canada, I was excited to be back. The form and the motivation were there, and I was hoping to have a good day at one of the most iconic races in the US.

Unfortunately, during the race the form was there, but my luck was not. The race started super fast with about 200 guys ready to tear each other’s legs off. During the first lap I was very comfortable and was confident I was going to have a good day. A couple miles from the base of the famous Manayunk wall, the road narrowed to a single lane and a guy in front of me locked up his rear wheel and went down. I was very quick to respond and was able to hold it up for a quick second until the guys behind me came into the back of me at full speed and took me out. I was fine and not injured, but my bike was tangled in my teammates rear wheel so it took a bit to get going again. I chased super hard for the next two laps behind my team car and other cars, but I was unable to join the peloton and I had to cut the tie.

I am now wrapping up a week back home in CO before I head to North Star Grand Prix tomorrow. I am super excited to be doing this race this year, as I have been unable to do it in years past. It is 5 days of hard racing with 6 stages.

Until next time

Thanks for reading,

Ginger 1


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page