top of page

Joe Martin Stage Race

Since the team is focusing more on stage races this year, I was excited to try out a new race. I have never raced Joe Martin before, because it conflicts with Speedweek and the BIG one, Athens twilight. I was a bit bummed to miss Athens this year, but at the same time excited for the new race. Sometimes it gets old racing the same race year after year with the same course, so throwing in a new race is a good way to keep things unknown.

Joe Martin consisted of 4 day race, an uphill prologue, two 110 mile road races and a hard crit on the last day.

Thursdays uphill prologue was a good test to see if I have improved a bit on my uphill TT since Redlands. This grade was not as steep, and more up my alley. I had a good warm up and was feeling good to get a halfway decent time, because I knew I would not be on the leader board with the pure climbers. I finished 1 min off the winning time and I was happy with my ride.

The next day was a chilly afternoon with rain clouds in the distance. It was going to be a long day and with everyone still fresh, it was going to be a fast day. My day did not start out too well when I went down in a crash 8 miles in. Luckily I landed on a dude’s bike and only hit my shin. I got back in the race no problem, and then about 10 miles later I was getting a flat and decided to change it since I still had 100 miles to race. Drew saw me having troubles so he waited for me to get a new wheel and we both chased HARD to get back in. People who don’t know cycling may not see this as a team sport, but it is things like this that showcase it. Drew could of just sat in the peloton using very little energy and be fine, but instead he dropped back with me and had about a 10 min hard effort to get back in the race. Thanks DREW! The rest of the 100 miles was pretty uneventful, stayed out of harms way. Coming into the finish was fast and wide open. Just picture yourself in a washer machine and that may give u an idea of the final K's in a race. Everyone is trying to get their sprinter in good position, and with debris on the road and cars on the side it becomes a very tense moment. There were a couple crashes before the finish line, but we all stayed up right. I don't know how Drew did because he hit something straight on that blew his front tire out immediately. Drew was the MVP that day!

The next day was 109 miles with a short steep climb followed by a false flat. It was a lollipop course and we did 4 laps around the circle. The plan was to make it to the finish for the sprint. The last time up the climb I got pushed back because there was nearly a crash and was in a bad position. The first 30 guys lit it up on the climb and I had to chase back to the front for the next 10 miles or so with a small group. It was a hard chase, but I knew I had the legs to be in the front group. The last 3ks were sketchy as always, with more then 3 separate crashes. There was a really bad pileup 400 meters to go in the last corner. Fabio was out of harms way and snagged a solid 11th on the day.

Sunday was a crit, but not a normal crit. It had a steep climb to the finish and a super fast decent into a 90 degree corner on the back side. It was all about position that day, but it was easier said than done. With teams fighting for GC spots, teams were fighting hard for the front, and if you were up there it was well known you were not welcome with bumping and yelling. Some scary crashes during the race made for a tense day. Fabio crashed but is one hard Australian and is alright. I got dropped from the lead group 3 laps to go and rolled into the finish line.

Looking back on the weekend, I am happy with my performance and I feel like it was a good way to end a block of racing. I am not saying I am satisfied and I am still hungry to get better.

I am home now in Colorado recovering for a bit and then ready to put in some hard training for the next block of racing.

Thanks for reading,

Ginger 1


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page