top of page

Colossal Cave Road Race

This past weekend was a local road race here in Tucson, another good oppurtunity to test my fitness. The race was an 8 mile loop on Pistol Hill 81 miles total with rollers, flats and a small climbs so a perfect race for me. This is a road that I train on and was happy to do some racing on it. They had this race 2 years ago and I got 3rd so I wanted to improve on that if possible.

I didn't have any teammates for this race as Conor was sick and the other guys were race in Cali at the Chico Stage Race. I knew I would have to be smart and play my cards right because there was a few local teams with full teams. I knew who I had to mark if they went up the road but that is easier said then done.

Right from the gun on a downhill about 5 riders broke away and had all the big teams in it so I thought that was it. Luckily we caught them about 5 miles later and then a counter attack went with the guys I was watching Chad Beyer(Superissimo) Matteo Dal-Cin(Silber) Travis Samuel (H&R Block) so I dug deep to follow and we got a gap pretty quick going up the climb. We worked really good together for the next couple of laps but then about 10 or so guys caught us on the flat section and a counter attack went but was brought back so I attacked again know my best bet of a result was from a break. It was funny it ended up being the same guys up the road plus Thomas Jondall(Superissimo). We all worked together until going into 1 to go and attacks went up the climb. It then was just Chad, Matteo and myself with the other two chasing. There was a few attacks from there and then I attacked with about 7 k to go. At that time I guess Chad sat up and waited for Thomas to catch up where he buried himself to close the gap to me and then Chad jumped across and caught be at the bottom of the climb. Less the 1.5 k to go to the finish and I was just fried when they came by and ended up 3rd again. I was bummed not to do a bit better but still happy with the form and how they race played out.

Now its home to CO next week for a week to change some clothes in the suitcase and then it off to team camp in Cali!

Excited for the year ahead!

Thanks for reading,

Ginger 1


bottom of page